CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

outty battery/charging(?) problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2006, 11:05 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default outty battery/charging(?) problem

The battery just all of a sudden went totally dead. I could start it w/ the pull rope and it would run for about 3-4 minutes and shut down. It would immediately restart w/ the pull rope and repeat the 3-4 minute run before dying again. This went on for about 30 minutes until I put it back on the trailer. I trickle charged the battery when I got home and have not used it since and it seems to be holding the charge. I think it is probably a bad battery but I'm not very well educated on the stator/rectifier relationship and don't know what to look for if those items were to be the root of the problem. Any advice would be appreciated. I'm not a mechanic but usually manage to do a pretty good job of fixing stuff if I can get some diagnostic help. Thanks for any input you can post.

azoutty[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 11-01-2006, 02:41 PM
Pro Rider

Pull starts means you have a 400 and I'm not really sure a fully charged battery is necessary for it to run. What year is it? Voltage regulators were a problem in 03-04.

Old 11-01-2006, 02:47 PM
Weekend Warrior

Yup........it's a 400, an '05 400HO. The big mystery to me (an electrical moron) is why would it run/quit, run/quit, etc.?

Old 11-01-2006, 05:25 PM
Weekend Warrior

My 04 400 outy had the same problem, would not run with a dead battery. Had to replace voltage regulator to the new two pole type. Regulator was $129.00 Wire gismo to hook it up $92.00 + labor! A lot of outy owners have had this problem. Fortunately didn't fry the battery which can happen. Good luck maybe it's not the VR but I wouldn't bet on it. No problem after change. I feel that BRP should have replaced the VR for nothing as they know the original ones are flawed.

Old 11-01-2006, 05:43 PM
Weekend Warrior