CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

New to this game...

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2003, 01:38 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to this game...

first let me say that this seems to be a great/active forum.

That said, I am a newbie to the Bomb! I bought my first quad about a year ago and loved it (for the most part). I found that my family loved the hobby, and started getting more and more into it. Even built a sand rail just for fun ($$$$$$$$$$$$). My first purchase was a Polaris Sportsman 700. It is a pretty cool quad, and the family has had a ball on it. As many of you have figured out, I soon became in need of something a little more sporty. That brings me to my current venture. I just purchased our second quad - a new 03 DS 650.

A little back ground if you will. I am 6'10" and 310lbs. The 700 and the Bomb seemed to be the only thing that really came close to fitting. We play at the dunes quite a bit but do trail ride when ever the mood strikes. I bought my DS with a Big Gun Complete exhaust and jetting on the dyno. The dealership wants me to run a couple of tanks through to break it in before they pipe it and tune it. Seems sensible to me, so I'll pick my monster up tomorrow and put a couple of tanks through this week end.

Questions:
1. As big as I am, what do I need to do to get the most out of the bike?

2. What kind of power should I see with the mods that I've bought?

3. With the type of riding that I do, what sprocket ratios should I be looking at?

4. What size/type paddles/wheels should I be purchasing? Gecko, sharks, sand skate 1, 2 etc. etc.

5. Will I be able to run 87 octane?

By the way, my dealer was featured in the March issue of Dirt Wheels, as they dyno'd and tested pipes for the Z400. The dealer is Sand Tech in Las Vegas, Nevada - they seem pretty solid.

Hope this thing will have some get up and go....

I appreciate any info that you folks might have.

Old 03-06-2003, 01:50 AM
Elite Pro Rider