CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

I need help to Get my DS running right. PLease!

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2003, 09:47 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help to Get my DS running right. PLease!

Hi Everybody. I’m new with these quads. And I’m new to the forum. I would just like to explain my problem with you and hopefully you experts have some advice for me. I just bought a regular 01’DS right before winter. So far I have had to replace the radiator and clean the carb. Everything is stock, to the best of my knowledge(except I took off those stupid snorkels on the airbox. Right before the first snowfall I seemed to have had It running well and drained the gas and stored it in the shed.
Like 3 months later I check to make sure carb is still clean and it was so I took it out for a spin. After about 7-10 minutes the motor shut down on me, so I waited a few seconds and started it back up. It kept shutting down on my way back to the shed (not to far away). Then I took out the spark plugs and they were looking lean as hell, so I put the clip on the 5th position of the needle.
Now my quad doesn’t shut down but I haven’t run It too long because the carb is still lean and I’m scared to wreck anything. Raising the needle didn’t really do anything.
So today I took the valve cover off and inspected things. The exhaust valve clearances are fine (about .006”). But I was very surprised to see that there is like zero clearance on the intake side, and the cams look pretty new. What could be going on. Well I’m sorry that I’m a boring writer(I never liked English Class) but I wanted to tell you guys everything I knew because I’m stumped To why its running so lean and no clearance on the intakes.

Old 03-23-2003, 10:00 PM
Pro Rider

Welcome to the forum