Dunes and Dune Machines Discussion on dunes and dune machines.

Pismo/Oceanic Dunes????

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2001, 02:10 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planing a road trip to the Pismo beach/dunes for some riding.
I'll admit, Im a newbie when it comes to the dunes.

I'm looking for advice, tips, Any kind of information about this area.

I currently have a raptor, stock tires.

Any advice would be helpful.
Thanks.

Old 10-15-2001, 05:15 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hmmm well, first thing are you staying in town or camping on the beach? If your camping on the beach you'll need reservations. Also you should have a 4 wheel drive or at least a friend with one to pull you out if you get stuck. Generally a 2 wheel drive with heavily aired down tires can get up and down the beach, especially at low tide when the sand is bit firmer. As town is right there, if you forget or run out of something you can drive back into town to get it. As far as your Raptor on stock tires, don't worry it should 100% of Pismo's dunes. Camping on the beach is $6.00 per night. If caught with out a reservation I believe the fine is $250-$280.00 (just went up). Here's a web site that should help out!! Any more questions???

Rude Dog

www.oceanodunes.com

Old 10-15-2001, 05:52 PM
Pro Rider

Rudedog-What's this reservation thing? I was there in August for the better part of a week, and never heard anything about needing reservations! Is this something new, or is this just for holiday weekends?