General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Loading ATV's

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2009 | 12:07 PM
|
Trailblazer
Unhappy Loading ATV's

I am new to ATV's. Recently purchased a Honda Rincon (used) to help around the place. I tow a small trailer to haul stuff to and fro, and use a snow plow in season. My problem.........I am afraid of loading the ATV up onto my pick up using ramps. The steepness of the incline, the narrowness of the ramp sends up all my warning signs of being at risk. As I am in my mid 60's and have learned to take physical risk very seriously. I have no problem putting on or removing my ATV from the pick up bed from natural ramps provided by earth berms or terraces on the property. But if I want to take the ATV to the shop or maybe even a forest service road for a ride I know I have to be able to unload the machine where often as not there isn't a suitable natural feature that would allow me to off load. I really do want to be self reliant and not have to resort to asking others to help.

Do you think an ATV trailer is the answer?

Old 08-09-2009 | 01:27 PM
Pro Rider
Does it in the Mud!

If you dont feel comfortable loading on your truck,then yes you may as well get a trailer. Or maybe purchase longer or different style of ramps so the incline is not as steep. If you do use ramps,just make sure to secure them to your truck some how so they dont slip out from under you. Some will say a trailer is more inconvenient, but all i have is a 16ft and I don't mind hauling it everywhere i go. I guess i'm just used to it.

Old 08-09-2009 | 02:35 PM
Range Rover