General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2011 | 07:46 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Advice needed

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and from Albuquerque, New Mexico. I'm seeking some advice on what to do for a first ATV purchase. I have never owned one nor rode one before. The only thing motorized I have driven are jet ski's and boats, therefore I would be looking at a 4 wheeler although a dune buggy does interest me. My questions are fairly basic since I'm a newbie.

1) What is the best way to go for trail riding, sand dune running and offroad parks. Here in NM we have designated and huge offroad areas that go for miles...hills, dunes, jumps, trails etc and then the mountains for other action.

2) I'm 6'1 and about 170 pounds. What size and cc would you recommend as a first machine? Wouldn't want something that is overpowering either.

3) Sport bike or utility? COuld you run the sport bike on mountain trails as well?

4) Not completely sure I would like it so would rent first but as a first time buyer would you go new or used?

Thanks guys,

Ken W

Old 05-11-2011 | 07:53 PM
Pro Rider

you could get the yfz 450 lots of people run those out in arizona but if youd like a utility quad iv been really impressed with renagade 800 its a sport utility they run about 73 and and are set up with a racing clutch so they are really snappy off the line and will run anything and anywere you want to go but id check it out and see for your self some places will let you test them but the can-am is the best bike on the market right now

Old 05-14-2011 | 06:52 AM
Trailblazer