General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Edge 90cc new to the game

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2013, 10:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Edge 90cc new to the game

Hi Ya'll,
I'm a newbie to the quad world. I received a "free broken quad" from my cousin and have been trying to get it running. I can't seem ti get it ti fire up. Here's what I've done so far. I replace the spark plug, CDI, Ignition coil, recahrged the battery, seems to be holding the charge, cleaned the carburator. I found a small chain behind the Stator that had come lose so I reinstalled it. I've check all the wires and found some corroded connections and replaced them. When I try to start it I make sure the brake is on, I've read that some will not start without the brakes engaged. I have clean fuel, and new oil change. I don't have a repair manuel to use as a referance. I've been watching a lot of on line video's and reading whatever I can get my hands on. Does anyone have any suggestions or know of a good repair manuel that would come in handy? I'd appreciate any help.

Old 02-03-2013, 02:25 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You never said if it's even turning over...

Have you checked to ensure you are getting a spark?

Are you getting fuel?

If you have those two it sure fire...

Old 02-03-2013, 07:20 AM
Weekend Warrior

You're right, I left out some important pieces of the puzzle. The carb is getting fuel, I do have a spark. I have the back wheels off the ground and the wheels turn when I try to crank it, not sure if this thing should even do that. It sounds like it wants to start.
Thanks for your help.

Old 02-03-2013, 09:25 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

3 things to do:
1. get a compression gauge and check compression. must be >90 psig.