Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Foreman 450S (2000) Sparking Problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2020, 12:43 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Foreman 450S (2000) Sparking Problem

Hi everyone, a newbie here, really hoping someone can help me out. I am an Electronics Engineer to trade, but this one is really start to make me question my capability. A few weeks ago my Foreman 450S suddenly refused to start. I have been through a great deal of investigation, which started by checking for a spark at the plug - but nothing when cranking. So, to cut a long story short, I have checked all the resistances in the stator windings, and in the Ignition Spark Generator coil, and all test out fine. Over the weeks I have been trying to fault-find, I have replaced the Ignition Coil, Battery, Ignition Spark Generator, but no change. My latest replacement was the Rectifier/Regulator, and there has been a change of symptom. I am now getting a spark when the start button pressed, but no sparks while the button is pressed in, and a second spare when the start button is released. The bike cranks perfectly, with no apparent starter issues. I have seen a great deal of posts around no spark issues, but as I have completed a great deal of testing and replacement of crucial components, I now feel I need some guidance from the experts. So here I am, any help would be ever-so greatly appreciated. I really mean that.

Old 02-05-2020, 02:47 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 342 Likes on 333 Posts