Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Bought a cheap '86 TRX200SX, needs work, can anyone help this newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2001, 12:22 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just bought a cheap-o 4-wheeler today for $50. There is a hole in the case from where the chain snapped and now there's a hole in it, can it be welded or am i screwed? also, the rear suspension is f*cked, when i jump up and down on it, it bottoms right out, so I'm assuming that's toast too. Hmmmm, what else, the kid I bought it from said when it ran, it smoked badly, so I'm assuming the piston and rings are toast. I'm new to 4-strokes you see, I have a 2-stroke (99CR125) and have no clue to look for. Also, where can I find parts for this thing, I've tried a few websites, but ended up with next to nothing. Is it possible to switch motors (like a 250 4-stroke motor?). I just bought this thing to play around with in the winter and to have some fun on some drunk occasions, my next-door neighbor is a small engine repairman and he has tons of sleds, cycles, etc hanging around his house, maybe he can help me out? But what do you guys think I should do? Thanks guys!

Old 11-26-2001, 02:28 AM
The Facility

As far as the case being busted, that is a notorius problem on those machines. I don't recall seeing one that wasn't busted in years. It is too easy to misalign the axle when adjusting the chain and that is what causes it. It can be welded, but make sure that the welder knows how to work with alum. Also, after it is welded, you will have to have it machined very thin because the stator is VERY close to the outer edges of the case. A new case is about $120 to $150 depending on the dealer.