Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

400ex jumping

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2002, 07:12 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am not an expert rider by any means however my 400ex nose dives every time I jump it. I started giving more throttle at the end of a jump and that helped but if it is muddy that doesn't work. Am I doing something wrong or is the preload on the stock rear shock need adjusted. And if this is it, how does one go about setting the preload on a rear shock.

Old 02-17-2002, 07:19 PM
Range Rover

lean back more

Old 02-17-2002, 08:04 PM
Pro Rider

Maybe you are chopping the throttle as you leave the jump? Try to just roll off the throttle instead. Also, make sure you are not accidentally tapping the rear brake.

Old 02-17-2002, 11:02 PM
Pro Rider

If you are leaving the jump correctly and it is still nose diving you usually have a suspension problem. My guess is you need to slow down your rebound on your rear shock or stiffen your front shock up to match the rear. A lot of people forget the fact that if one shock is working difrent than the other it throws your bike screwy. But it could just be the way you jump if you dont have much time on the machine!

Old 02-18-2002, 08:12 PM
Pro Rider

One thing is possibly the rebound is set too fast. Mine was set too fast for my weight 150lbs. so if you are lighter like me that might be a problem. Definitely you need to match up your suspension I would probably stiffen up your front shocks all the way. Especially if you are jumping alot.

My basic approach to jumping is to keep an even throttle all the way to lift off. Always be conscious of your throttle control as you launch. I almost always position myself toward the center or slightly rear of the bike.

Adam Smith

99 400EX

Old 02-18-2002, 09:59 PM
Pro Rider

You're probably just letting off the gas too soon before you get airborne. Stay on the gas until you're rear tires are off the ground.

Old 02-19-2002, 02:32 AM
Trailblazer