Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

86 250R Compression

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2000, 01:47 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been having some trouble with my 86 250R in that at in the power band it sputters. It is not very bad but I know it should be smoother. I have tried changing the main jet but it did not make much difference in the sputtering. I started out with a 152 and went up as high as 168 and as low as 140 and it was not very noticable. I checked the compression cold and it was 120 and hot was 125. It is stock except for the P. T. pipe. Is this comression to low or alright? I would appreciate any helpful input.
Thanks.

Old 02-24-2000, 04:27 PM
Trailblazer

I am not a mechanic, but 125lbs seems pretty low to me. I think factory is about 170lbs, and I know that my race bike is up at 250lbs of compression. I do not know if that is causing the sputtering, but it is a definite possibility.

Old 02-24-2000, 05:50 PM
Range Rover