Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Newbie, with bent axle

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2004, 01:58 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie, with bent axle

Hey All
As the title indicates, I'm a newbie.
This past weekend I was on a run with my dad and some buddys. I was leading the group through a trail and came across an exposed culvert, just a bit too high to go over without bottoming. When the front tires touched the culvert I give the throttle a little blirp to hop over it. A near perfect execution, but came down slightly more on the left rear.
Much to my dismay I now have a bent rear axle. This was the first ride with the new tires and wheels and I'm wondering if they put that much more pressure on the axle.
I know some will think It was probably more than a little blirp and a little hop, but quite honestly it was not.
I've had a few bikes (atc 185, warrior, quadzilla, explorer 400 4*4, Kawi 650 and now 700 not to mention the two wheelers) and have jumped them all lots as I like to fly.
I've only ever bent one other axle and that was on the warrior after it rolled more times than I could count down a very steep long hill and then planted itself on the hardpacked floor below.

Has anyone else seen these axles bend that easily or is this caused by the extra weight of the tire wheel combo.
Needless to say I'm now searching for a new axle.
Given that the dealer just informed me that a new one will be $721.45 (CDN of course), I'm open to suggestions and ideas.
I can't believe that it has bent this easily, at best I could not have been more than a foot and a half off the ground.

Old 05-18-2004, 04:18 PM
Pro Rider

Old 05-18-2004, 04:18 PM
Pro Rider

I have seen this first hand ..Not mine but a friend of mine..Side swiped a tree with his rear tire and WHAM bent axle...Look at the after market axles out there..Durablue, lonestar, to name a couple....Should have what ya need for half the price.....

Good luck
Mental