Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Best Utility Rims? ITP Cast, OMF Reinforced, stock???

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2004, 04:27 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Utility Rims? ITP Cast, OMF Reinforced, stock???

I'm new to the Utility ATVing world. I wanted to get some tires and rims for my new Prairie as this is usually the single best improvement you can make on any stock machine.

Here's my issue... Where I ride in PA, the conditions are brutal. Most sport quad rims will be bent in no time in this terrain. I have since gone to a re-inforced ring type ITP Baja rim on my Z400 sport quad, and for almost 2 years now, they've been bullet-proof. I have always heard that for sports quads, the ITP 10" cast aluminum rims are junk and will bend/crack very easily. How do their 12" utility cast aluminums rims hold up (I'm assuming most people have experience with the Series 4 rim)? I've looked into the OMF Ring reinforced Douglas .190 rims, and they are pricey, but I know they would do the trick. I would much rather buy ITP Series 4,5, or 6 rims for my Prairie because their at least half the price of the OMF rims (or $300 less for an entire wheel package). Also, with the larger diameter tire on a utility quad, I was also hoping this would protect the rim more.

Experiences/thoughts?

Thanks,
QuadZ

BTW... My buddy jack-hammered one of his stock Prairie rims within in the first ride in PA.

Old 12-07-2004, 07:05 PM
Pro Rider