Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Lakota - Carb Issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2008, 08:30 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lakota - Carb Issues

Okay guys I am a newb and this is my first post here. At any rate, I have a '96 Kawasaki Lakota (KEF 300) that I traded for (long story) and yet I am having some trouble in getting it started now.

You see, the bike sat up for a while before I got it so I knew that it had some carb issues (among other things). Therefore I pulled off the carb and looked at it when I noticed the tear in the diapraghm which got longer as I looked at it (or so it seemed). So I got online researched the Carburetor which was Keihin 32mm? And honestly not all that impressive! Therefore when I discovered that the diapraghm alone was $89.95 (a new carb was in the $3++ range). Well, I about choked! So I started checking out all of my options.

And all of this led me to several discussions about swapping the carburetor and replacing it with a Mikuni 32mm. But I was apparently shipped the wrong carb as I ended up with Mikuni Round Slide Carburetor - 32mm (40mm Intake) which was a Bike Bandit purchase (Part # TR-426010). Well, I live in South Louisiana and I got the carb in right before the first storm hit. Therefore I couldn't just turn around and send the carb right back. Besides I figured that I could make it work with a little finesse. Plus I was actually in a bit of a hurry because I have the bike sold! So I really wanted to go ahead and finish the bike back up as the guy that is buying the bike is getting it for his nine year old son. Therefore I wanted to make it happen rather quickly for the little fella.