Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

new owner of 06 brute force 650i

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2009, 12:11 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new owner of 06 brute force 650i

i am new to the belt driven bikes. i just bought a 650 brute , was wanting someone to tell me the in and outs on not shredin the belt . u know what to do and what not to do . any input on oil and diff fluid changes would be great also. thanks Tim

Old 04-19-2009, 03:18 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Mopar Man!

There really is nothing you can do to keep from shredding the belt other than periodic maintenance (belt inspection) and using low gear in high torque low speed applications (towing or rock crawling, etc). As I like to say when in doubt use low gear and you wont have a belt issue!

As far as oil changes go use you owners manual as far as recommended oil viscountcies. Go and buy a good full synthetic oil for all your fluids, you can't go wrong! Congrats and happy trails on the new bike!

:Note: When it comes to maintenance on a quad you can never do too much or too often! JMO

Old 04-19-2009, 04:13 PM
Trailblazer

come on , theres no brute force riders out there

Old 04-19-2009, 06:42 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Mopar Man!

Oh there is but there are probably out riding on a Sunday! LOL

Old 04-25-2009, 09:44 PM
Pro Rider

You'll kill the belt from abuse, that's about it (mostly in reverse or pullin Honda's out of holes...lol) unless it's not adjusted correctly.

Inpect it every 100 hours and change it every 1700 km's as the manual says and you'll be fine. I've burn't mine a few times from pushing her, but you'll smell and hear it when it happens.

And BTW, might as well buy a puller now, and an extra belt and learn how to do it before your first scheduled belt replacment. The puller is the best $35.00 you'll spend if you own a Brute.

Get a copy of the manual. A must have.