Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

"break-in" period???

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2002, 03:46 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

whats up everyone, just bought a new mojo and i was reading the manual allitle bit last night and i was reading how it recomends you not to go no further then halfway with the throttle or else you will end up with a messed up machine or something until you ride it after 10 hours...this is my first time with a new machine..if anyone would like to explain this better to me please do..i dont want to mess up my machine with the urge to go fast
thanks, matt

Old 02-17-2002, 04:15 PM
jdm
Trailblazer

Engines are extremely tight when manufactured. The breaking in means all of the parts wearing smooth to form tight seals in the metal to metal areas of your engine. The engine has to be broken in as recommended if you want it to last. I don't care what anyone tells you, the people who made the machine knows best.

Old 02-17-2002, 04:27 PM
Trailblazer

thanks for the input, i would also agree on you with the point on the people who built the machine know best.

Old 02-17-2002, 07:09 PM
Pro Rider

It really gets under my skin when I read a post about someones brand new bike drag racing or mud bogging in the first few hours they had it. I always expect to here back from them whining about how there pos fell apart when it was brand new.
Just do what the book says and leave your worries behind. these toys cost to much to drive like rentals.

Old 02-17-2002, 08:58 PM
Pro Rider

My manual says 10 hours or 60 miles. DO they mean 10 hours or 60 miles, which ever comes first or what? I have 8 hours on mine and 77 miles, is this considered broken in, even though it doesn't have the full 10 hours on it? I wish I new, I guess I will consider it broken in, and go ahead and change my oil since I have more than the 60 miles on it. I’m ready to open it up a bit [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 02-17-2002, 09:42 PM