Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

giovanni 110cc starter draw

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 08:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default giovanni 110cc starter draw

hi looking for a bit of help. i bought a 110 giovanni quad for my little guy in november. i am not good at mechanical things in general. since i got the bike it doesnt seem to hold a charge very long . heres what i know. i have replaced the battery with 2 new ones (from an atv store exide). checked power from engine to stator ? and from there to battery power good. battery shows 12.4 v but heres the kicker when i turn headlights on battery drops to 11.4 volts not bad i think. BUTwhen i hit the starter button battery drops to a low 1.1 volts and instantly drains the battery. possible starter problem ? i have to boost the bike every time to start it. as long as booster cables are on starts 100% starter sounds good no abnormal noises. help!!!!! i hate to have to carry booster cables with me every where i go. oh if you drive the bike for about an hour and then stop in warm weatherr you get one chance to start it the second chance it will not go i dont know if there is an excessive drag or not but as lonfg as you dont shut it off it works fine

Old 05-06-2008, 02:44 PM
Range Rover

here's a couple of easy things i would do, next time when you start the quad, turn the key on like nornal then use a jump wire across the terimals on the starter solenoid, if that works, try it a couple of more times just to make sure, then if that to be the problem replace the solenoid, if the battery still drains, remove the starter and put it in a vice and run a battery to it, + to the terimal and - to ground, it should spin like an electric motor and just see how long it spins before the battery dies, if it dies pretty quickly then replace the starter.

Old 05-12-2008, 08:39 AM
Weekend Warrior