Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Most common LT80 problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 04:04 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Most common LT80 problems

Ok... I am sure I'll get alot of feedback here which is great. I am not an expert at these machines but I have been working of them for quite a few years and these are fantastic machines if they are kept serviced. I have compiled a "small" list of problems that occur quite frequently and are very missunderstood by some in the 2-stroke field. Anyway, If you dissagree or have a better solution feel free to e-mail me. I am not opposed to better solutions. Just trying to save some from giving up due to poor of missguided info.

1) CRANKCASE FRACTURES. This is one of the biggies: There is a weight limit on these machines for a reason. Suzuki did not make these bikes with a swingarm so the engine cases themselves take fhe full force of the shock when someone jumps hard, pulls them out of the back of a pickup and lets them drop to the ground ect. You can usually tell when your engine cases are cracked. The easiest is to take hold of the rear grab bar near the flag holder and try to sway the bike side to side. If there is quite a bit of play go the the next step which is to look on the right side of the bike (if you were sitting on it). look around the vent hose going from the fan cover to the crank case. This is one of the most vulnerable cracking areas. All the way up to the serial number. These cracks can be repaired depending on the extent of the damage. One way to prevent undue cracking is to monitor the bolts on the clutch cover as well as making sure the skid plate is still atached.