Inexpensive trailer floor... Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2000, 11:20 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to rebuild my trailer soon and need suggestions on type of floor to use. Right now it is expanded steel(like a landscaping trailer)I like this but it is $50 a 4x8 sheet to replace. The trailer is 14x6 thus I need 4 sheets minimum Ouch! I was thinking about chain link fencing stretched and tac welded in several places just a thought. I would like to keep it light, but I`m open for suggestions as the title says.
Thanks in advance.

98 Scrambler 500
00 Trailblazer 250

Old 10-29-2000, 12:52 PM
Trailblazer

Egg; Being a carpenter by trade, I would suggest the use of green treated plywood. I used 3/4" thick 4x8 sheets on a 2 place sled trailer I built recently. It was $25. a sheet at a local Menards.
If the supports or crossmembers of your trailer frame are close enough together 5/8" thick can be used for additional weight & $ savings.
Good luck with your project. Gary

Old 10-29-2000, 07:03 PM
Pro Rider

I second that. The 3/4 inch stuff should be stiff enough for most applications, will resist weathering the best and is thick enough to bolt stuff down to it or cut holes in it. My frind and I modified a waverunner trailer with treated so we could use to haul the waverunners, quads, and stuff for the yard! There is a company in this area called Fastenal that sells a flat headed self drilling screw that is ideal for attaching wood to trailers. I think they sell a similar screw at Menards and Home Depot but theirs have a smaller head. The screws aren't cheap but they make the job fly and they're plated to resist rust.

Old 10-29-2000, 09:01 PM
Pro Rider