Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

1999 Polaris Sport 400 cc problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2012 | 09:54 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default 1999 Polaris Sport 400 cc problems

Hi guys, I am relatively new to atv's. I just purchased my wife her first atv. It is a used polaris sport, 1999 model, automatic, 2 stroke. The gentleman that I purchased it from delivered it to my house. I test drove it and it ran great. My wife and I both rode it for about an hour and then turned in for the evening. Fast forward six days and it won't start. The electric start doesn't work and didn't when I purchased it. I knew that going into it. However, the pull start worked great for me when I purchased it six days ago. Now, it seems as if it's not getting any fire. I pulled the spark plug and it looked to be fouled. I cleaned it and checked the gap, reinstalled it and still, no fire. It's not even acting like it wants to turn over. Granted, it has sat for six days but I don't think that is the problem. 6 days is a relatively short amount of time. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with it, but it did sit through 2 pretty bad thunder, rain, and lightening storms. I've tried choking it, cleaning the plug, and thats about it. Any ideas of what I should do next? Thanks in advance for the advice.