Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

2000 xplorer 250 awd, battery needed??

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2013 | 08:21 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default 2000 xplorer 250 awd, battery needed??

Newbie Here! awd doesn't work on 2000 xplorer, another thread suggested needing a battery, even a dead one. Bad for system to have no battery. Can some one confirm this. I have no electronics, just electrics, no speedo, no lite on AWD switch.

P

Old 03-18-2013 | 10:28 PM
Moto Psycho

Not having a battery in it can blow your electronics. The voltage that should be going to the battery has to go somewhere.

Old 03-19-2013 | 10:01 AM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

Thats odd I rode my 500 Sportsman with a spent dead battery for a month before getting around to buying a new one.

Besides needing to pull start it every time everything worked normally.

I rode my Yamaha 1989 Big Bear 350 4x4 without a battery period for 5 years since the electric starter did not work anyways and the only thing I noticed was it had dim head lights.

Same with a few snowmobiles I had,I just pull started them for the winter since thet started in one pull . Everything worked ok though even the hand thumb warmers. But I left the dead battery connected in the system though.

I just though the newer ATVs with computer brain boxes and EFI needed a heathy battery.

Old 03-19-2013 | 10:26 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!