Polaris Side by Sides Talk about the tough Polaris Sport and Utility

Air Filter Concern

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2007, 03:23 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Filter Concern

Has anyone checked their air filter lately? I used my RZR once in a somewhat dusty area and when I got home I thought I'd inspect the air filter. I'm absolutely unhappy with the stock set up. I found dust inside the intake that got past the air filter. Can't wait for K&N to come up with something better. I couldn't believe that dust went right past the cheap filter, even with the outerwear around it (Looks like they attempted a cheap fix). I've been riding in the same area for many years and have never seen dust get past the filter on any of my bikes...

Old 06-12-2007, 02:42 PM
Trailblazer

Check the clamp on the intake behind the filter. Someone was complaining that it was left loose on there machine. K&N does have a filter for the bike. I have seen them on ebay, and jaggedx sells them along with a prefilter.

Old 06-12-2007, 10:44 PM
Pro Rider

I'd like to hear more on your assessment of the problem also; as Outerwear took a look a my machine today on an unrelated matter and we'll be meeting again soon. Evidently, this is a standard Sportsman size filter.

Old 06-13-2007, 06:02 AM
rzr
Trailblazer

what a crappy filter what is the sock thing for what crapo i think i had beter get a ggod one

Old 06-13-2007, 09:03 AM
Pro Rider

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: rzr

what is the sock thing for what crapo </end quote></div>

It's a pre-filter that you can wash and re-use. A K&N is available from JaggedX as mentioned and Uni will most likely will come out with one soon also (Unis filter a little better; yet have slightly less airflow than the K&N brand).

Old 06-14-2007, 02:55 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for the tip on the Sportsman filter. I'll be ordering a real filter soon...

Old 06-21-2007, 01:10 AM
Weekend Warrior