Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Loading Trail Boss 330 onto pickup truck

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2004, 05:24 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loading Trail Boss 330 onto pickup truck

I've got to retrieve a Trail Boss 330 several hundred miles away. Can I load it onto the bed of a small pickup truck, a Ford Ranger? Has anyone with a 330 done this? Seems like the only problem would be getting the front end of the Boss over the wheel well extensions inside the bed, otherwise the dimensions are OK. This will be a solo job. Maybe I could drive the ATV over the wheel wells...?? What do I know -- I'm a rookie at this ATV stuff.

Damn, why do I get into situations like this!!

EW

Old 01-29-2004, 05:35 PM
Pro Rider

If it runs no problem, just bring some tie down straps in case your tailgate does not shut. I have seen Grizzly 660 in the back of Nissan and it fit, he just had stuff under the front tires to keep the front end of the wheeler from taking out the window.AlaskaBoy.

Old 01-29-2004, 05:36 PM
Pro Rider

My 400 fits in a ford ranger. You have to lift the front end over the wheel wells though

Old 01-29-2004, 06:21 PM
Supersock
Hired Gun!
"Badges? We don't need no stinkin' badges!"
Received 164 Likes on 163 Posts

Watch gettin' over the wheel wells. I almost rode mine through the back window. I made a ramp from 2 x 6 treated lumber I just keep in the back. It starts at the rear of the wheel well and rest against the front of the bed. If you're going to haul it in the Ranger most of the time, I can send a picture if you want to make one. Cost about 20 bucks with wood and hardware. Been using it for almost 3 years now.
Almost forgot, the tailgate will shut, and the ramp angles it so the bumper doesn't hit the rear window.

Old 01-29-2004, 07:43 PM
Trailblazer

Originally posted by: Scootergptx