Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

500SP vs Kodiak 450 and dealer questions NH

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2005, 09:55 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 500SP vs Kodiak 450 and dealer questions NH

Tons of good info on here - thanks already for the help the site has provided in coming up to speed.

I'm new to the hobby and will be buying 2 quads (make that 3 when you count the 'lil 50 for the kid) in the next month or so for the wife and me. Narrowed down to the 500 HO and the Kodiak 450 ('05 w/ IRS). Any opinions? I'm leaning toward the Sportsman I think the value / features in this price range outweigh the Kodiak, plus the IRS is new on this model so may need some kinks worked out. We'll be doing mostly light trail riding but occasionally I'll have a buddy over and we'll want the greater power. Am I on the right track?

Any experience with Keene motorsports in New Hampshire? Been really impressed thus far, but I know that after the sale is what really counts!

thanks in advance.

Old 02-13-2005, 10:43 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

The 500 ho is the most reliable motor that Polaris has and it has a ton of torque. The kodiak in nice but the ride, power and options on the Sp are far better.

Old 02-13-2005, 11:38 AM
Pro Rider

I love my 500HO!! Havn't been impressed with the Kodiak 450 (2004 model) ... seen a couple on the trail ... it's not bad ... just not impressive.

Old 02-13-2005, 11:43 AM
Pro Rider

i bought my scrambler and my snowmobile from keene motorsports,havent had any real problems with them.my buddy on the other hand,he bought a scrambler 500 through them,brought it in to have the swingarm bushings replaced under warranty,when he got it back and went for a ride one of the swingarm bolts fell out,they never put locktite on the bolt..if you do get a machine through them double check their work if you have it serviced there..

Old 02-13-2005, 01:28 PM
Trailblazer