Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

? Questions From The New Guy ? (Polaris Predator 500)

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2006 | 01:21 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default ? Questions From The New Guy ? (Polaris Predator 500)

I am very new to the ATV world. I have about 8 hours total on my Polaris Predator 500, or any ATV for that matter. So of course there will be crazy questions from me. I appreciate any answers.

Recently, well yesterday I took my first spill. Bent my throttle hand lever thingy. Does it matter what kind I get to replace it? Is there different kinds? Maybe this one fits on a Polaris, and this one fits on a Honda? Also would it be easy for me to fix it myself? Im pretty good at mechanical aspects of things.

Another question I have is, I broke part of the plastic on my Polaris. Where the Screw, meets the plastic to go into the actual atv. It isnt obvious, and you have to actually look for it to see it. But I'm wondering if there is a way to go about getting new, or ordering new plastic?

Also how are Polaris in the water? I went through around 2-4ft water, and everything was fine. Then we went through some creeks not even a foot deep, and it seemed to stall? Well I appreciate any help I can get. Thanks!

Old 09-11-2006 | 10:36 PM
Pro Rider

ttt

Old 09-12-2006 | 08:52 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!

Do you mean you bent the front brake lever? You can get aftermarket ones that are tougher, but expensive. Or just go back to the dealer for a new one. Shouldn't be to hard to replace though. If you mean the throttle lever itself, it may be easier to get OEM. They are not that hard to replace either. I know earlier Preds have a water aversion like you mention. The solution is to reroute a vent hose or two. Try a search and you should be able to find a solution to your stalling problem.

Old 09-12-2006 | 10:39 AM
Extreme Pro Rider