Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Which repair manual, or do I need one at all?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 01:56 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which repair manual, or do I need one at all?

I'm about to do a little work on my '95 Magnum 425 4x4. Planning to put a few new parts on the carb to fix a gas leak and also change the clutch primary and secondary spring as recommended by a member on here. The carb work I'm not worried about at all, I can do that without a manual. I've never worked on an ATV clutch before though. Is it complex enough that I should get a manual, or can anyone on here walk me through it or guide me to a couple pictures or tutorial that will get me through the job.

Assuming I need a manual, I'm a little confused about which one to get. Going off of the year of my unit, I'd say I need this one... http://www.themotorbookstore.com/polat191.html

However the motor size isn't listed and the picture on the cover looks to be of a much smaller atv than mine. The 1996-98 book has the 425 model listed, and the picture looks just like my unit. It is here.. http://www.themotorbookstore.com/polmagbigbos.html

Is it possible that I actually need the 1996-98 book rather than the first one?

TIA

Old 04-25-2007, 06:04 PM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts