Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

AWD on or off?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2007, 12:12 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AWD on or off?

How do you typically ride - do you just leave AWD on all the time or off unless you think you may need it?

Old 10-29-2007, 12:42 AM
Trailblazer
Default AWD on or off?

I am no expert by any stretch. But... I stay in 2wd on harder packed surfaces. And if I am riding on softer sand, especially up hill, I use 4wd. If I am really climbing something steep hard or soft 4wd works better.

Everyone I ride with has sport quads (2wd 5-speeds rockets), and I love to show off in steep soft conditions with my 4wd. Hills they cant climb unless with good running start, ***** to the walls. I climb with little effort in 4wd. I think the best way is just play with it, see how you like it. For the type of riding you do. Try the same trails in 4wd, and 2wd.

I can slide around corners tighter in 2wd and keep up with my buddies' sport quads. 4wd I cant corner as tight. I missed a turn in 4wd, that I could have slid around in 2wd with my *** weight over the inside fender of the turn. Good thing I just went into the bushes, and not off a cliff!

At fast speeds the bike will behave differently in 4wd than 2wd. I am afraid to ride in 4wd at very high speed, way less agile. Slower speeds 4wd is fine for me.

Nth

Old 10-29-2007, 12:48 AM
Trailblazer
Default AWD on or off?

hwks, i always leave it in awd, serious problems can arise if you shift from 2wd to awd when wheels spinning.

Old 10-29-2007, 01:40 AM
Range Rover
Default AWD on or off?

Only when needed. i would think it would be a rough ride in AWD all the time. up to u dude. I hardly ever have it in and if its on only for short time.

Old 10-29-2007, 02:13 AM
Pro Rider
Default AWD on or off?

I ride in 2x4 unless I know I'll need AWD or if its anticipated.

Old 10-29-2007, 06:35 AM
Pro Rider
Default AWD on or off?