Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

G'day new bloke from "Down Under"

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2009, 02:28 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default G'day new bloke from "Down Under"

G'day all, newbie here an Aussie from the land Down Under.
I am after some information on the early model Polaris 2 stroke ATV's, there are a couple on eBay here in Australia one is a 1993 the other a 1994 model. Both are 250cc 2 stroke motors with chain drive. I am looking at both of these but before I bid one one of them I would like to know if there are any known problems with them.
I have been looking at other makes and models of ATV's (4 strokes and 4x4) but I really need an ATV which is as light as possible to put in the back of my tray back Nissan patrol. I will be using it for gold prospecting in Western Australia and where I go it is very isolated, up to 200 miles from any town.
Are these 2 strokes oil injected or do you have to make a pre-mix and if so what ratio of oil to petrol (gas). Do they tend to load up with lots of slow riding or do you have to rev the guts out of them to to stop oiling up. Do the chains and sprockets wear out quickly because of the ingress of dirt.
I have had motor bikes all my life from 15-58 (I know at my age I should know better) but this will be my first ATV. Any information on these ATV's would be appreciated, regards Neil PS the last 2 stroke I had was a 350 Yamaha road racing bike TR3 which had chrome bores, please tell me the polaris motors don't have chrome bores

Old 01-24-2009, 05:15 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts
Default G'day new bloke from "Down Under