Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

What does everyone think about using Royal Purple?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 06:40 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What does everyone think about using Royal Purple?

I, like some of you have noticed this confusing bs about 2w50 oil being required in our XP's and other Polaris atv's.
I'm curious to try Royal Purple in my atv however they don't have a 2w50 oil and when i contacted them today the guy from R.P. thought it was a misprint and upon further discussion he looked it up and sure enough it was correct but he suggested that a 20w50 could be used. Which i thought might not be right. He continued to say that the higher number (being the 50) is the one thats truely important for the engine running at operating temp.
Im no oil expert and ive been told long ago that a 5w30 covered a wider range of temps than say 10w30.. Is that true? Does that principle apply here? if so, then wouldnt a 20w50 be used more for warmer air temps than say colder air temps such as the winter? you wouldnt want that in your engine when its winter? intial start up etc???
Also in general would R.P. be an excellent upgrade in oil? As in there's peteroluem based synthetics and there's full synthetics that seem to coat the engine better, ie stronger and closer molecules with full synthetics than with part synthetics?
HighOctane ive read some of your forums and seem to very knowledgable id like to hear your take on this as well as everybody else. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Thanks everyone..

Old 03-03-2009, 07:09 PM
DCT
Banned

I would NOT use 20W-50 in a vehicle with at 2W-50 or 0W-40 spec.

I'm also not a big RP fan. I prefer AMSOIL or Mobil 1. But in any case I wouldn't go with the weight oil that guy recommended.

If you really want to understand more about oil (or get more confused LOL), have a look at this site...

Bob is the Oil Guy

Old 03-03-2009, 07:12 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

I agree with DCT.