Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

04 700 slug! Whats the deal?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2009, 01:00 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 700 slug! Whats the deal?

I am new to the Polaris atv's and am not impressed so far. I used to run a Grizzly 660. My buddy has a 04 600 twin (carb) sportsman that alaways was reliable and seemed well powered for a 600 so I got sick of breaking axles in my yamaha and decided to try a sportsman 700 twin (carb). Now the guy I bought it from said it was an 04 1/2. I had a dealer try looking up my serial number to see if it is an early or late model 04 and it comes up invalid but even the dealer said its not altered on the frame they cant figure it out. that i dont mind except some parts when you order them need to be specified early or late model! Any Ideas? Its Blue says 700 in red.
My next and biggest problem is its a dog!! Yes i Know its heavier than im used to but come on. Realy! 48MPH!!! And Try climing over a log in high range the belt burns. I do have 27" tires but my 660 yamaha had no problem with them. In Low range it cant even get reved all the way up in the soupy mud or the loose bogs. It doesnt have the power. I put all new fluids all the way around new belt, new gas and air filters, cleaned carb.
Wheres the power? My buddy has 26" tires on his 600 twin and it revs up in the mud (little less agresive tread) and does 60 mph.
I checked the jets. They are the right ones. 155 on bottom and 160 on top the rest are not adjustable or removeable.
Another problem when I spin the tires in 2wheel drive the 4 wheel drive kicks in. That sucks! I was told this was from using the wrong fluid so I put new stuff from the dealer in and it helped a little but still does it when rear tires start slipping. All other sportsman ive seen dont do this.