Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Sportman 800 clutch install

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2011, 11:45 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportman 800 clutch install

Since my bike developed a hard shifting issue that fixed itself after a week of sitting i have decided to replace/upgrade the clutch and belt. Also others have mentioned about a fiber washer with the one way bearing which i plan to replace also.

I havent yet pulled anything apart, but will in a week after the parts arrive. So my question is Whom has done this and what special tools did you need? a puller? This will be my first time poping the cover off and since i am second owner i have no history on when anything was done last. I am a fairly confident mechanic, but not an actual mechanic...i just like to play one in my own garage.
any tips or incit would be much appreciated.

Old 12-07-2011, 04:10 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts

You have to have a clutch puller and a spider tool to service the front clutch.You can get the puller for less than 30 bucks and some have even made their own. Just found the spider tool for about the same price as the puller at a couple places,about 60 bucks for the tools,plus the repair parts.Check around there may be some cheaper sources? OPT

Old 12-07-2011, 04:50 PM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

need special tools to pull the clutch apart and a puller to get it off, so you might want to have some one w/ the tools to replace the parts. just a thought.

Old 12-07-2011, 06:27 PM
Pro Rider

OPT...were these online that you found them for$60, i dont mind spending some money on tools....never know when you will need them again.

Old 12-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Pro Rider

what year is yor 800? I bought the spider tool at Victor Specialty tool a few years ago, the holding fixture was $75 and thespider tool was $35

Old 12-07-2011, 06:55 PM
Pro Rider

Old 12-07-2011, 09:06 PM