Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

tachometer

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 03:27 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tachometer

Hows it goin?,

I am new to wheelers and new to forums so bear with me and thanks for any help. I just bought a 2003 250 trail blazer (Only ever rode snowmobiles) I have two issues i need to correct. 1st i want to install a temporary tach to adjust my clutching.(and have the revs acccurate) From what i understand i should be able to hook an old school indy sled tach right into it. Could someone confirm and meybe help me out with some instruction? Also my headlight goes in and out, i replaced the bulb and i still have the same issue????? I am pretty sure it is some sort of regulator in the system, but i am not sure where to start. i have the owners manual, and i am looking to get the service manual, but i dont have it yet. i think these work almost identical to the sleds but i dont feel confident enough to start making changes, and corrections yet. thanks for any help

Justin

Old 03-21-2012, 12:38 AM
Pro Rider

That quad has a non-digital ignition with a four magnets in the flywheel.

you need a 2 pulse tach. hooks up to any one coil of the three lighting coils and then other wire is grounded. I got mine from a 96 indy 440. A tach from any twin cyl sled with a four magnet flywheel will be a two pulse. The online parts fiche's sometimes state what pulse the tach is as well. Making it easy.

tachometer/hour meters that clip on the spark plug wire are a pain with that bike cause it will read twice actual revs. because it fires the plug twice in a revoulution. making it hard and inconsistant to read. you don't want one.

Old 03-21-2012, 08:46 AM
Pro Rider

try tradebit.com for a manual

Old 03-27-2012, 01:37 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by mrtwostroke
That quad has a non-digital ignition with a four magnets in the flywheel.