Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2002 Sportsman crank seals

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2013, 10:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Sportsman crank seals

Hello a newbie here and wondered if anyone can tell me if you can change the crank seal on the primary clutch side easily after removing the primary clutch? Thanks for any response.

Old 05-24-2013, 05:14 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Not on the 700 or 800 engines because both the crank seals have a flanged lip that sits inside a groove in the upper and lower engine cases. The cases have to be split to replace a damaged seal. Bummer I know if you have a damaged crank seal that could be leaking oil! If this happens you might as well check all the internal parts,bearings,etc since you'd already be in there.

Old 05-24-2013, 08:11 AM
Weekend Warrior

Here is my problem, I bought this 2002 Sportsman 700 and to make it take off you really have to rev the engine high to get it to move, wasn't as bad in low but still had to be revved up where my 800 will pull a wheelie. I took the belt cover off and it has a dark black oil on everything, don't know where the oil is from. With the cover off I can start the engine and rev it and in neutral the primary will compress and raise the belt up just as it should but when you put it in high gear it will only compress about one half to three quarters of an inch and barely move, in low it will compress more but not nearly as much as in neutral but still has to be revved up but not as high. The primary spring appears to be good so what is my problem??
Where else could the oil be from the transmission? Any suggestions would be extremely helpful on what direction I should go.

Old 05-24-2013, 08:14 AM
Weekend Warrior