Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Welch plug/customer service

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2015, 12:09 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Welch plug/customer service

I've been fighting with Polaris for a few months now. Had oil blowing out of the vent line under the headlight. Talked to Polaris and amazingly enough they'd never heard of it. I informed them that I'd done an internet search and came up with the welch plug. They said that it was my main seal and that's a wear item so not covered warranty. I asked them how they are able to diagnose the problem over the phone and why it couldn't be the plug? They said the plug was a "captured plug" and there for could not come out.

When the transmission was removed it was found to be the Welch plug and not the main seal (shock and amazement)(I've got some good pictures of this but don't know how to attach them). When I talked to customer service, again, they said that it's not a manufacturer issued and that it's not covered. They said there was a Service Bulletin on '09 for the upper breather but not on the '10. I pointed out that the 9 and 10 had the same part # so there for it's a know problem. They refused to acknowledge and type of issued and just continually stated that it's out of warranty and there for not their issued. They offered my $500 in accessories. I turned them down and offered them my lawyer.

I will be starting a class action lawsuit. If this has happened to you get a hold of me and I can put you in touch with my lawyer when this gets rolling.

I also recommend getting ahold of the Consumer protection safety commission, that way a recall can be started. They are the ones that will for Polaris to recall the unit.

Old 07-14-2015, 02:09 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

What is it? You only said it was a 2010 Polaris. What model?

Old 07-14-2015, 02:14 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts