Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Two Trail Blazer pipes/how they stack up

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-1999, 02:22 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

For those of you looking to do TB mods here is what I learned from the 2 I have done.

One is set up with an RCR pipe and the other with a Hot Seat pipe. We never ran the 2 machines against each other stock as mine already had the RCR pipe installed when a friend bought his TB and asked me to modify it.

I recommended the Hot Seat pipe to him even though I was happy with the performance of the RCR I was not thrilled with the way it installs. The Hot Seat is the only pipe ( when talking AAEN, HPD, RCR, and Hot Seat) that uses the stock system. The install was clean and easy and did not leak.

DG’s pipe appears to use the stock mounts too. I know nothing about this pipe; I’ve only seen it in a picture in Ronnie’s mail order catalog. I understand Dyno Port and PSI make a pipe for the TB. I have no Knowledge of these pipes either.

The RCR pipe uses the first portion of the stock pipe. It comes with an aluminum silencer that mounts to the top muffler bracket. Besides the springs up front this single mount is all that keeps your pipe on. The silencer fits over the end of the pipe and a hose clamp is suppose to keep it tight. My pipe kept moving as the hose clamp couldn’t clamp it tight enough to keep it from moving. I bought a conduit clamp (for 1” conduit I think) and bent it around a 1.5” pipe to get the initial shape. Then I clamped it on with a stainless bolt. It hasn’t moved since. It is somewhat of a pain to position the pipe so it doesn’t leak. It took about five times for me to get it right. The RCR pipe comes with a 140 main jet. If you take your carb off and turn it over and remove the plug the main jet will be staring you right in the face. One of my SAE nut drivers fit it like a glove so I removed the 130 stock jet and screwed in the new.