Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Tired of Walking....need my Sportsman 400 to run.

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2001, 03:51 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

HELP! Can anyone help me get my Sportsman 400 torn apart. I am new to the two stroke world. I have rebuilt V8's autos and 4 stroke hondas, but never a two stroke. My Sportsman has been sitting up for about a year and even the mechanics who know what they are doing will not touch it. I want to do it myself, but dont think I have the equipment needed, especially a clutch puller. Will standard pullers work or do I need to buy a special puller? Is there an issue with the timing of the engine? Please help, as my wallet can't stand to pay Polaris to fix it. They wanted $600 to $1000 and I already have the parts except for the crank bearings. I need to polish the crank, had my piston to break apart down in the engine. Also a hole in the cylinder wall(will replace it). I am using a wiseco piston for replacement. Any help will be appreciated.
Telephoneguy

Old 07-05-2001, 04:57 PM
Pro Rider

You could'nt have written this post at a better time, I got done rebuilding a trailboss 250 2 stroke with a broken piston, this is what I did:

After tare down of the top end I had the cylinder bored to the next size up (.020 over), machined the head cuz of the knicks from the bashed up piston.

To split the crank you need a flywheel puller and a primary clutch puller ($80.00 atypical) don't use regular puller on the primary clutch assembly or breakage will result.

After thoughs two parts are removed undo the bolts on the casing and with a pickle fork and hammer carefully tap around the seam with the hammer and pry apart with the pickle fork.

OK the crank is removed to press the bearings off your going to need a bearing seperator and an arbor press ( two of the most important tools in this rebuild). Also you'll need them to press out the bearings inside the casing.