Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1st Thing to do on a Z400?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2003, 08:51 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st Thing to do an a Z400?

Greetings.

Just bought the wife a 400 and was wondering if I could get a quick down and dirty on things that are good to tweak right off the bat. i.e. I keep reading about pulling the baffle off the snorkel and/or pulling the airbox lid. I have no experience with this particular engine and it's got a bunch of stuff hanging off it that is much different than my YZ426 had.

I don't see the quad getting a pipe for the real near future so anything you could suggest in regard to a stock version would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much

Old 10-17-2003, 10:40 PM
Range Rover
Default 1st Thing to do on a Z400?

do a search on "power for pennies" that should sum up what you are looking for. if you have any other questions just post.

Old 10-17-2003, 11:43 PM
Range Rover

Thanks for the direction.

Not sure I want to hack up the stock muffler or airbox yet but I may try running it with and without the baffle to check the diference.

I do have a question about the fuel screw though. On my bike the fuel screw got richer when you backed it out (opposite of a 2-stroke AIR screw). Is this carb the same?

Thanks much

Old 10-18-2003, 12:26 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally posted by: Rich807

I do have a question about the fuel screw though. On my bike the fuel screw got richer when you backed it out (opposite of a 2-stroke AIR screw). Is this carb the same?

Thanks much
That is correct, although you shouldn't have to mess with that in this case.
I would reccomend a better filter, and proper jetting if you do get the filter.

Old 10-19-2003, 10:28 PM
Range Rover