Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

LT250R owners

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2005, 09:24 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT250R owners

well i baught a winter project, an Lt250R in pieces. i was there when the bike was takin apart and have actually done a lil work to the chassis for the boy b4 i got it offered to me. Well now i wanna know what i can do to really make this ol bi*ch scream. im new to suzuki and dont know alot about them so whatever u guys do to ur LT's to make them run good or handle good let me know.

Old 09-08-2005, 05:37 PM
Range Rover
Default LT250R owners

Same thing you do with any old two stroke. First decide what kind of riding you are planning on doing, and go from there. Pipe, silencer, carb, reeds, air filter, port and head work. They won't handle as good as a comparable TRX250R but you can still buy axles, a-arms, and shocks.

Old 09-08-2005, 09:25 PM
Pro Rider
Default LT250R owners

An FMF pipe & silencer are a must, plain & simple. Next, if it's an '87-'92 a V-Force system or Boyesen Ram valve would be a good choice (pricey though) If it's an '85-'86 the reed valves are inside the jug & require a head & base gasket just to swap them ( B.S.)
After that a good pair of front shock will do wonders for the ride quality. I have an Axcalibur +2 axle on mine & it corners & slide soooo good. BUT...... the most overlooked handling difference comes from a quality set of tires. Everyone has his/her own preferences, but mine is a pair of Holeshots in the rear mated with some good 'ol knobbies in the front.

Old 09-08-2005, 10:45 PM
Range Rover
Default LT250R owners

a good set of shocks is a must. doesn't matter how hopped up your engine is, if the chassis can't handle it you won't be able to use its power.

Old 09-09-2005, 02:25 AM
Pro Rider
Default LT250R owners