Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Twist Throttle or Thumb Throttle?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2008 | 04:01 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Twist Throttle or Thumb Throttle?

Folks, I'm relatively new to the whole quad scence (I own a few street bikes and have owned Husky X-Country and Suzuki RM's in the past), so I'm still doing quite a bit of learning. The next "mod" that I'm considering for my quad (I already have WP suspension, extended A-Arms, etc...) is going to a twist-throttle. Anyone have any pros/cons with this mod? Anyone made the conversion and care to share their comments? Thanks!!

Old 01-04-2008 | 05:00 PM
Pro Rider

yeah- been there, done that and thinking of going there again. I too came from the bike scene and getting used to the thmb thing then got a twist but came to realize why thumb is so prevalent for ATV's getting tossed around and trying to hang on all the while, but I still prefer the twist. Needless to say- the cabgle broke and I'm back on the thumb for now..........

Old 01-04-2008 | 05:23 PM
|
Weekend Warrior

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: kwackermann

yeah- been there, done that and thinking of going there again. I too came from the bike scene and getting used to the thmb thing then got a twist but came to realize why thumb is so prevalent for ATV's getting tossed around and trying to hang on all the while, but I still prefer the twist. Needless to say- the cabgle broke and I'm back on the thumb for now..........</end quote></div>

Did you have any issues with the twist throttle when jumping, roosting, etc.? DId you use a push/pull throttle?

Old 01-04-2008 | 09:03 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Turning can cause problems. Bikes mostly lean for turning, and radical turning of the handlebars doesnt happen. But on a quad, the steering goes lock to lock , and trying to keep the twist steady, takes some concentration.