Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Top end blown, antifreeze in tranny???

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2013, 08:05 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top end blown, antifreeze in tranny???

My piston failed (lean main jet) and a piece broke off (see pic). When I stopped I noticed an oil/coolant mixture was dripping for a few seconds and then stopped. I suspect it came from the overflow on top of the tranny. There is some also antifreeze and oil where the crankshaft is. I know this was the result from the piston failure as I often check the oil and it never had coolant in it.

1. Can anyone explain how the coolant got into the crank case and the oil??

2. It is my first time doing a top end, and i noticed it is already at 2mm over so I have to resleeve the cylinder, right? I'll go back to stock so I have room for cheaper rebuilds in the future.

3. I will also be splitting the case to clean out the inside of any debris that fell down. The rod has no up and down play and feels solid so i will be reusing the same crank, but i'm replacing main bearings and seals. When i put the cases back together, what is best to use: gaskets, permatex ultra blk, or permatex ultra grey?

Any other tips?
Name:  IMG_0558_zps30f703dd.jpg
Views: 263
Size:  30.7 KB

Old 03-26-2013, 08:41 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

What machine?
That piece melted off. It's called detonation.
Providing it's a stock motor (stock compression) It's prolly a poor fuel problem.
More answers will depend on the machine.

Old 03-26-2013, 03:23 PM
Weekend Warrior

Sorry, I don't know how I left this out...

It is for a 91 LT250R. I looked up the piston number that was stamped on it and it was a 69mm, 2mm over the standard. That is the max size sold by wiseco, so I guess I should resleeve the cylinder.