Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

LT80 Running Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2018, 05:37 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT80 Running Issue

Hello
I am new to this site I have a running issue on my lt80 and can’t figure it out and think I have tried everything. I am a car mechanic for a living so have mechanical knowledge but feel as I am missing something here. It’s a 2000 lt80 I just purchased it and has been having this bog falls on its face at WOT if you back off the throttle and get back on it then it’s good for another 7-10 seconds and will bog again. I have rebuilt the carb and cleaned it 2 times now all new jets and seals/ float. I even bought the factory Suzuki jet seals to make sure there is no sizing issue. I put a 90 main jet in to try and help it got a little better so then I started playing with the needle clip position runs best with clip at top highest spot but still bogs only at WOT. Also I have to block the vent tube on the carb for it to run without bogging at lower throttle as well. So this is all testing with the vent blocked. Every change I tried I also tried with vent open and with it open it will bog at any throttle position but idles good. Also with vent open it smokes a lot more than with it blocked off. I don’t see any clogged jets or passages in the carb I can see light through passages. I did not boil the carb do you think that would help? I have a new spark plug in it NGK dealer looked it up number wise. It’s all stock besides the twin air air filter. No blocks in air box that I can see. Oil injector is blocked off. There are no vac leaks I tested with carb cleaner. I cleaned reed cage and flipped reeds they appeared to be good/newer. I run no ethanol fuel with redline mix 32:1 (Runs great in my ds80). New air intake boot. New carb/reed cage insulator. Replaced fuel petcock due to factory one leaking with a replacement one from amazon it only has on and prime no reserve. I run an in-line fuel filter af