Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

2002 LT 50 Any one own one?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2001, 01:37 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been thinking about getting my kid a new quad for Christmas. I so far like the deals and the overal look of the LT 50. I can purchace one for $1767 out the door plus get $50 in gas and Suzuki is kicking in $150 free stuff. My kid is 3 1/2. She is tall for her age. She rides my 600# quad with me. The only thing she can not do is steer that big thing with me on it (290lbs + 600lbs) and I did not expect her to be able to.
What age groups are you putting on this thing? I know the "rules", but I think it should be up to the riders ablity. Besides, what are the rules for mini bikes and go carts? I started riding a mini bike on my own when I was 4. I think a quad with a throttle limiter and a tether would be safer than the mini bike that is in the garage waiting for her.
Opinions?
Ingoldx1

Old 10-25-2001, 01:06 AM
Trailblazer

I purchased a 2002 lt50 for my four year old this summer. He is now 4 years and 6months. At first I kept him flat level grass. No dips, hills etc. Even at that in the first week he rolled it by running over a five gallon plastic bucket in the yard. Full safety gear so no harm done. In six months I have graduated him to the local riding area. He is doing pretty well but I NEVER let him out of my site. Occassionally his maturity lets him try some things I don't want. We discuss and he keeps improving.

Review the LT50:
Top speed 13-15 mph, plenty fast enough for him
Pro:
Kid size controls and spring rates. Good for a 40-60lb kid.
Reliable

Con:
Single ratio transmission. It needs a CVT. This would allow him to slow down and craw over difficult terrain. As it is he must keep up speed to keep going in tough stuff its not as safe.

Chain always needs to adjusted.