Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Need help jetting my LT250R!! Blew a hole in my piston!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2002, 10:53 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK, I know the basics of jetting, but I'm not really experienced at it. I got my 1990 L250R back in November. It was running rich and I would foul about 2-3 plugs per tank of gas (mostly in trails, so I was between idle and 3/4 throttle the majority of the time. Very rarely did I get to full throttle).

About two months ago I was riding down a snowy road in sixth gear pretty much full throttle. The bike suddenly cut off (no bang or any other noise) and when I checked it out, I saw that I had blown a hole in the piston.

Does this mean I need a bigger main jet (to richen 3/4 to full throttle) and I should raise the clip on the needle (to lean out off-idle to 3/4 throttle)?

My top end is being bored out to .40 over. I have a full DG pipe and boyesen rad valve.

Where can I get a good jet kit for cheap? I want to go with a K&N filter with prefilter cover setup because I won't be riding in any mud or water.

Any opinions/ideas on how I should jet it?

Thanks

Old 04-05-2002, 11:34 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Someone correct me if I'm wrong,but isn't a hole in the piston a sign of "detonation" not poor jetting? Wouldn't the motor sieze before the hole was made if it was lean?And surely rich jetting wouldn't make a hole.Is your compression stock? [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 04-05-2002, 11:39 AM
Trailblazer