Technical and How-To Articles Post your Tech Tips and How-to articles here. Photo illustrations welcome

newbie question top end vs bottom end

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2012, 02:47 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie question top end vs bottom end

I have been reading posts and classifieds on craigslist. When a person says it has a new top end or has a new bottom end.....what are they referring to? What parts of an atv belong to these 2 catagories?

Old 10-30-2012, 02:54 PM
Pro Rider

well simply put, the top end is the top half of the motor containing the piston, valve or valves, cam if its an over head cam and the head. the bottom end is the bottom half of the motor containing the transmission. im not a mechanic but i got the basics. usually when a motor blows up in my experience either the top or bottom locks up. ive never had them both go out at once. thats just an easy way of putting it

Old 10-30-2012, 03:09 PM
Weekend Warrior

thanks for the quick reply. i am kind of new to all of this but trying to learn as much as possible.

Old 10-30-2012, 05:05 PM
ʇsıʇɹɐ ɹǝʌolloɹ
Providing the enemies of the United States with the maximum opportunity to give their lives for their country since 1775.
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

pretty much what's said above- but to get a little deeper into your excellent question...

the top end of a motor refers to everything from the crankcase up- cylinder "jug" piston, piston rings (which consist of multiple pressure rings and an oil ring), piston boss pin & circlips, upper connecting rod needle bearings, cylinder head (where the spark plug screws into), cam-shaft (if it's an OHC "over-head cam" engine) & cam bearings, valves & valve seals (if it's a 4 stroke with OHV "over-head valves") and any seals, gaskets and o-rings that go with it. Usually, reed valves & carbs are not part of a "top-end" overhaul.