Trailers, Toy Haulers, Motorhomes. Discuss Trailering, Toy Haulers, Campers and Motorhomes.

First time Diesel owner...

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2007, 12:31 PM
Military Rider
My hobbies are NASCAR, Rockin' in the Free World, and riding my Sand Pigs at every available opportunity.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Diesel owner...

Yesterday I graduated from a 00 F-150 SuperCab to a 01 F-350 4x4 CrewCab SuperDuty 7.3L Powerstroke. Seems to be all stock under the hood, and has 156k on her.
A few questions that I have are oil change frequency/type of oil. It's been running Rotella 15w40. I live in the middle of the Mojave so 110-120's are the norm for the Summer with 30's quite a bit in the Winter. I'm open to filter suggestions also, especially air. I picked up a Fram at WallyWorld and at $20 I would rather get a K&N for twice that and have it last forever. I see a lot of complete K&N filter and tube setups. What are the advantages of this over the K&N OEM replacement?

I've got a million questions but I'll start with these for now and see where you guys lead me.

One BIGGIE though, like I said, this is my first Diesel, three times yesterday I hit the key to start, totally disregarding the WAIT light. Should I put on the dunce cap and go sit in the corner or is this a minor no no?

Just like Eeyor I'm all ears.

Old 06-23-2007, 01:36 PM
Weekend Warrior

It won't hurt it to start it fast. If it is too cold to start without cycling the glowplugs (what the light is telling you it is doing), it will just turn over and not fire.

Old 06-24-2007, 10:40 AM
Weekend Warrior