Trailers, Toy Haulers, Motorhomes. Discuss Trailering, Toy Haulers, Campers and Motorhomes.

Can i mix once ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018, 09:57 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can i mix once ?

I just bought a used trailer for my atv. I don't know what grease was previously used but I am going to install some buddy bearings on it. I just don't have the time this week or next to take out the bearing and repack them but i need to use the trailer on the highway to take the atv to my land and do some work so I want to make sure i am covered for just a little while. I dont think its low, but i could always post a picture with the dust cover off if that helps too.
Would it be ok to install the buddy bearing (they take 2minutes) and fill it up with new grease.. then in a couple weeks when i have time, completely clean and repack with all new grease ? I hear stories of mixing, but i am new to trailers and bearings and all the maintenance with them. The current grease is red and i had purchased Lucas XTRA duty grease if that means anything at all.

Old 07-19-2018, 11:11 AM
Pro Rider
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by Atvrder
I just bought a used trailer for my atv. I don't know what grease was previously used but I am going to install some buddy bearings on it. I just don't have the time this week or next to take out the bearing and repack them but i need to use the trailer on the highway to take the atv to my land and do some work so I want to make sure i am covered for just a little while. I dont think its low, but i could always post a picture with the dust cover off if that helps too.