Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

winch cable vs. winch rope

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2005, 02:40 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winch cable vs. winch rope

i am new to plowing with an atv. i have a 3000# winch on my 05 king. will it really hurt the cable lifting the plow alot ? i saw these 8' ropes to replace the cable for plowing. is a good idea or a waste of money. my plow is a 60" eagle. thanks for replies.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 11-07-2005, 03:53 AM
Pro Rider

You should have a roller fairlead, that will add years to your cable. Even without the roller fairlead your winch will probably burn out before your cable does.
The people that have the ropes swear they are the greatest thing and if my cable ever wears out I will probably replace it with the rope but I can't see spending the money to replace a good cable. I have the Swisher plow and bucket and use them all the time and I can't see any wear on the cable.

Old 11-07-2005, 08:30 AM
Trailblazer

thanks Starky. yes, i have a roller fairlead. it has an oversized roller on the bottom just for abuse plowing puts on it.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]

Old 11-10-2005, 12:47 AM
Pro Rider

I went down to a local supply store and purchased 12' of nylon webbing that is about 2" wide. This the cargo hold-down type, NOT like the stretchable type used as a tow strap.
I drilled 3 holes 1/2" deep horizontally on the winch drum (after removing the wire cable). I then used 3 self tapping panhead screws to secure the strap to the drum, and attached the original hook to the other end. Works great! On my old atv, I used it for 2 years with no problems at all. Last week I did the same thing to my new Vinson.

Old 11-10-2005, 08:08 AM
Trailblazer