Where to Ride Share info on your favorite riding spot or ask others where to ride.

Hatfield McCoy.. I have rode it.. and this is my $.02

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2001 | 04:21 PM
|
Pro Rider

First off, let me say I feel I'm a pretty decent rider. I have been riding on and off for 10 years now. Must of the time I ride at WNF Athens, so I will be using that to compare to.

First thing I would like to say is I felt very welcome in Logan, WV. The people were extremely nice and helpful, the hotel we stayed in, Logan Motor Lodge, was cheap (40 a night) and very decent for that price. We had a fridge and a microwave, 2 clean beds and a nice room. No complaints at all. If you do stay at Logan Motor Lodge, don't miss the food at Eve's next door. It is a really good little bar, great food, nice people. We didn't find it till our last night, and I really regret it having missed it for the first 2 days.

The rangers are really nice at HM, all of them seemed knowledgeable, and I never got the feeling that were looking to write tickets, just to be helpful. We even had a ranger look the other way for riding down the road to return to camp when I had a flat tire.

Maps, the maps are HM are the best I have ever seen. I didn't once need my GPS, and felt 100% comfortable knowing where I was, always! If everyone mapped the woods as well as HM staff, no one would ever get lost.

The wildlife is incredible, we saw many deer, 5 wild boars, some snakes, birds of all sorts, and once big black bear!