Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Off topic but important to question for summer camping

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2003, 10:55 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Off topic but important to question for summer camping

Does Ice last longer in a cooler if the water is drained or left in ??? Last weekend was really hot and this generated a pretty good debate - a scientific test is in the works but I'd like to hear from the experts......

Old 05-28-2003, 11:05 AM
Pro Rider

Im an expert on this topic, I have been researching for the last 6 years every memorial day weekend and have gotten my ice consumption down to almost nil while beer consumption has tripled..

35gal cooler with "half-lid"
30 lbs of ice
2 x 30 pack of bud

The half lid coolers will keep ice the best, I have found that when getting a beer every 10 minutes its best to have a half lid cooler (tiny lid on one side to get beer faster and quicker without letting out so much coolness)

I dont drain my water near as much as I used to and it seems my ice keeps longer - 5 days ( I could go 6 or 7 days with beer alone) . with 2 30 packs of already cold bud on the bottom 30 lbs of ice on top and food laying on top of the ice is the best configuration I have found aswell.

Old 05-28-2003, 06:41 PM
Pro Rider

I agree with 007....We used to drain the water, but found keeping the water in keeps the beer, soda's, whatever!! colder longer. So keep the water in. (unless you plan to move the cooler around a lot and have extra ice easily available). Happy Camping!!![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]

Old 05-29-2003, 12:48 AM
Pro Rider