Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Wolverine Tire Concern

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2000, 07:55 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi guys. I'm new to this posting stuff but have enjoyed reading all your posts for the past few months. I have a 2000 Wolverine and totally love the bike. However, as many of you already know, the stock tires are terrible! I must have 15 plugs in my tires already and the bike is only about 5 months old! All but one of my tires has hole(s) in them. Anyway, back to the question. I'm very happy with the size of the tires (23") and see no real reason to go any larger. The tires I really like only come in 25". I have two concerns with putting them on. I don't want to make the Wolverine too unstable (top heavy) for trail riding and also the lack of low end torque trying to turn 25" tires. How much of a difference will the 2" tire height make concering these two issues? Also, I am considering some simple mods (ie, fmf pipe, K&N filter, etc.) Any recommendations you guys could give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Old 06-26-2000, 09:19 AM
Range Rover

I put 25" swampers tsl's on my 96 wolverine and I love the tires.( 25x 9.5x12 and 25x12.5x12). The biggest problem I've had is the lack of power. I think the weight of the tires is most of it. I have been debating on putting 25x 9.5x 12 vampires on the back to get rid of some of the weight. Your only going to gain 1" in actual height and you'll never notice it. I've lifted the back of mine 1 1/2" to help with the ground clearance and I still havn't had any problems. What kind of tires are you wanting to get?

Old 06-26-2000, 09:57 AM
Weekend Warrior